With the opening ceremony behind them, 23 sports kick off on Saturday.


The Olympics really start now. Oh boy, do they start now. A full 23 sports will be in action on Saturday in Tokyo. Eleven gold medals will be awarded.

The very first came around 11:30 a.m. Tokyo time (10:30 p.m. Eastern on Friday), when with Yang Qian of China won the women’s air rifle competition.

After the embarrassment of a 3-0 loss to Sweden in their opener, the U.S. women’s soccer team will try to bounce back against New Zealand at 8:30 p.m. in Tokyo (7:30 a.m. Eastern).

Many of the cyclists who just finished the Tour de France, including the winner, Tadej Pogacar of Slovenia, will contest the men’s road race. Expect some scenery. There’s plenty of climbing, and the riders will go partway up Mount Fuji.

Three-on-three basketball makes its Olympic debut, and the American women will play two games.

And in the Tokyo evening (morning U.S. time), swimming will begin, although there will only be heats, no finals.

Plus more gold medals in weight lifting, archery, judo, fencing and taekwondo. Buckle up!



Source link

Spread the love

Written by bourbiza

Anti-lockdown protesters are seen attacking police and hurling pot plants as rallies turn violent

Australian anti-lockdown protestors clash with police amid new restrictions after just 176 new cases