Olympics Friday Preview: Basketball and Volleyball Semifinals


TOKYO — The American women’s basketball and volleyball teams have advanced to the semifinals. And standing in the way of gold medal chances for both teams on Friday is Serbia. The volleyball semifinal starts at 1 p.m. Tokyo time (midnight Eastern), with the basketball game 40 minutes later.

On the track, the races include the women’s 400 meters and 1,500 meters — with Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands continuing her bid for a 1,500-5,000-10,000 triple — and the men’s 5,000 on Friday night (Friday morning U.S. time). The finals of both 4×100-meter relays will also be run. While the U.S. women made the final, the men missed out, again, because of poor baton-passing in the heats.

One hurdle remains for the American duo of April Ross and Alix Klineman in beach volleyball: the gold medal game against Mariafe Artacho del Solar and Taliqua Clancy of Australia. They will play at 11:30 a.m. in Tokyo (10:30 p.m. Eastern on Thursday).

The women’s soccer gold medal game on Friday morning (Thursday night in the U.S.) pits Sweden against Canada.

And the 50-kilometer race walkers will get their start at 5:30 a.m. Tokyo time, to avoid the worst of the heat.



Source link

Written by Bourbiza Mohamed

A technology enthusiast and a passionate writer in the field of information technology, cyber security, and blockchain

Los Angeles police investigating possible excessive use of force in arrest of NBA center Jaxson Hayes

Amazon pushes back office return date to January 2022